Dreams, The Queen

The Queen and I …

Every so often a vivid dream comes upon me about being in the presence of Her Royal Madgeness. I don’t know where it comes from, or goes to, but it is always less evanescent than the usual nocturnal rubbish. This morning, I was ushered into a reception room at Buck House where Her Britannic Majesty sat awaiting my approach. A lady-in-waiting offered a small glass of liqueur into which she pressed a raspberry … “this is for your toast”. So I raised the glass, drank it and said: “Here’s to my late Uncle Dusty. I do miss him!”

The Queen rose and we shook hands warmly … a smile of recognition on her face. “We met last year” I said “and we have met once or twice in the past but can’t remember exactly where … I expect you have the same problem!” Then she was off and I emerged blinking into the real world which always seems rather ordinary at times like this. I did snap the Queen once when she bade farewell to the First Fleet recreation at Portsmouth in 1987. Two years ago I visited the Queen’s Chapel at St James’s Palace and touched the Coronation Plate. I have patronised the adjacent closet. And I know where the Cambridges’ office is. I can also throw in a family link to Henry VIII via umpteen marriages and one or two wrong-side-of-the-blanket jobs, on my maternal grandmother’s side. Other than that I am quite common really. And if you’re nodding in agreement with that, please be discreet. I do have feelings.

The Queen arrives in The Solent in 1987 to see off ships taking part in Australia's First Fleet recreation.

The Queen arrives in The Solent in 1987 to see off ships taking part in Australia’s First Fleet recreation.

Standard

Leave a comment